Andre Esterhuizen: Harlequins Centre wins RPA Players’ Player of the Year Award

Andre Esterhuizen scoring for Harlequins against London Irish
Esterhuizen is one of Harlequins stand-out performers for this season

Andre Esterhuizen of Harlequins has been named the Rugby Players' Association's player of the Year.

Harlequins' South Africa international has scored eight attempts this season. They are aiming to retain their Premiership title during June's playoffs.

A poll of fellow players revealed that the 28-year-old had won the most votes.

Centre Esterhuizen joined Quins 2020. She has started all 23 team league matches this season and played an average time of 77 mins.

He said, “It's an amazing honour to win the award and to have it voted by all of the players and teams I've played against and with makes it even more special.”

It is something I am proud of. I am grateful to my family and team-mates, for all their support.

England's full-back Freddie Steward was named Young Player of the Year in Leicester, England, ahead of Quins flyhalf Marcus Smith, Henry Arundell of London, and Bevan rodd of Sale.

Steward stated, “It's a great honour to win an award voted by your peers. I feel humbled to have won, given the talent of the game.”

Steward was also named England's player-of-the year. Since making his international debut last year, the 21-year old has won 10 England caps.

Marlie Packer was awarded the England women's player-of-the-year award. Harlequins scrumhalf Danny Care won the RPA's special merit Award.

The RPA's Blyth Spirit Award – which recognizes courage in the face adversity — went to Kevin Sinfield, Andrew Fenby and Katy Daley McLean. Former England women's soccer star Katy Daley McLean was inducted into RPA's hallof fame, while Leicester wing Chris Ashton broke the Premiership's all time try-scoring record.

Leave a Comment