Australia v England – The Wallabies squad includes six uncapped players to the Test series.

Suliasi Vunivalu of the Queensland Reds scores a try
Suliasi Vunivalu has changed its codes for 2019

Suliasi Vunivalu was a rugby league legend and is one six uncapped players who have been named in Australia's squad of six for the next month's three Test series against England.

Captain Michael Hooper leads the 35-man expanded squad, but Reece Hodge is an experienced utility back who was omitted.

After a spell in France and a return to Australia, Kurtley Beale is back as a playmaker. He also misses the international stage.

The series will begin in Perth on July 2.

After a long and successful career with Melbourne Storm, Winger Vunivala moved to Queensland Reds in 2019.

Dave Rennie, Wallabies coach said, “We chose him because of his enormous potential.”

The other uncapped players are Pone Fa’amausili, Melbourne Rebels tighthead, Cadeyrn Niville and Nick Frost, ACT Brumbies locks, and Jed Holloway, New South Wales Waratahs locking Jed Holloway, and Dave Porecki, his club team-mate and hooker, who is also a Melbourne Rebels tighthead.

Fiji-born backs Samu Kevi and Marika Koroibete (fly-half) were announced earlier as the overseas picks permitted by Rugby Australia rules.

Hodge of the Melbourne Rebels was unable to play because of “mixed forms”, Rennie explained. Another absentee, Izack Rodda (in-form Western Force lock), could miss up to three months due to a foot injury.

Rennie indicated that Waratahs’ Beale must be treated for a hamstring issue so he is available to play in the Rugby Championship later in this year.

Rennie claimed that the series was the most significant of his reigns since he took over the role in 2019.

He replied, “I would definitely say so,” when he was asked.

“It's an exciting series and we're thrilled about it. They've been studied for so long that we already know the future. Our challenge is to be able to handle it and not succumb to pressure.

Eddie Jones's England has won every eight Tests against Wallabies since 2015, when the Australian took over.

They also received a whitewash of 3-0 on their 2016 Australian tour.

The Perth Stadium Test will be followed by tests at Brisbane's Lang Park, and Sydney Cricket Ground on the next two weekends.

Australia squad

Forwards: Dave Porecki. Lachlan Lnergan. Folau Fainga’a. TanielaTupou. Scott Sio. Allan Alaalatoa. Pone Fa’amausili. James Slipper. Angus Bell. Matt Philip. Jed Holloway. Nick Frost. Cadeyrn Nieville. Darcy Swain. Michael Hooper. Pete Samu. Rob Valetini. Rob Leota.

Backs: Nic white, Tate McDermott and Jake Gordon.

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Leave a Comment