Canadian Hockey League deems Russian and Belarusian hockey players ineligible for July’s import draft

TORONTO — The Canadian Hockey League stated Wednesday that Russian- and Belarusian players won’t be selected in the July 1 import draft due to the war in Ukraine.

The CHL umbrellas the three major junior hockey teams — the Western Hockey League. Ontario Hockey League. Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. This ban does not apply to players who are currently on CHL protected rosters.

The most recent import draft was held in June. 16 players came from Russia, 11 from Belarus.

International Ice Hockey Federation banned Russian and Belarusian team from all events at any level.

Russia was also removed from the list of hosts for two major sporting events in 2023 by the sport’s governing bodies — the world junior champion and world championship.

Leave a Comment