Carlos Beltran joins 14 other newcomers to the Hall of Fame

Carlos Beltran joins 14 other newcomers to the Hall of Fame

NEW YORK — Carlos Beltran and John Lackey are among the 14 newcomers to the Baseball Writers Association of America's Hall of Fame ballot. This could lead to an evaluation of the Houston Astros‘ cheating scandal.

R.A. Dickey, Huston Street, Francisco Rodríguez, Bronson Arroyo and Matt Cain also are new to the ballot, joined by Jacoby Ellsbury, Jayson Werth, Mike Napoli, J.J. Hardy, Jhonny Peralta and Andre Ethier, the Hall and the BBWAA said Monday.

Scott Rolen and Todd Helton are the remaining holdovers. Rolen received 249 votes out of 394 votes last years (63.2%). David Ortiz won with 307 votes (77.9%), eleven more than the 75% required. Helton was present on 205 ballots (52%), and Wagner on 201 (51%).

Voters rejected several stars who were tainted with steroids and scandal.

Barry Bonds (260 votes; 66%), Roger Clemens (257.65.2%), and Curt Schilling (231.58.6%) were removed from the ballot after their 10th appearances. They are among eight players who will be on the ballot of the Hall of Fame's contemporary baseball committee. It meets in San Diego Dec 4 and is scheduled to meet before baseball's winter meetings.

Andruw Jones (163 votes last years, 41.1%), Gary Sheffield (135), 34.3%), Alex Rodriguez (135), 34%), Jeff Kent (122, 32.7%), Manny Ramirez (104, 28.9%), Omar Vizquel (494, 23.9%), Andy Pettitte (342, 10.7%), Omar Vizquel (194, 24.9%), Andy Pettitte (242, 10.7%), Jimmy Rollins (73.7%), Omar Vizquel (23, 5.8%), Torii Hunt (21, 3.8%)

Kent, who was awarded the highest percentage last year will be on the BBWAA ballot the 10th and final.

BBWAA members that have been a member for at least 10 years consecutively are eligible to vote. You must post your ballots by December 31, and the results will be published Jan. 24,

All players who are elected to the Hall at Cooperstown will be inducted on July 23rd, along with any other elected members of the current baseball era committee.

Beltran was a nine-time All Star with a.279 average in batting, 435 home runs and 1,587 RBIs. He also stole 312 bases. Kansas City Royals, Astros, New York Mets, San Francisco Giants, St. Louis Cardinals, New York Yankees Texas Rangers. He was appointed Mets manager on November 1, 2019, and was fired on January 16, without having managed a single game. Three days earlier, he was the only Astros players mentioned in Major League Baseball's report about the team's illegal use of electronics to steal signs.

Alex Rodriguez, who was a three-time MVP, and a 14-time All-Star, was suspended for 2014 for violating MLB’s drug policy. Ortiz was also alleged to be on a list that included players who had tested positive in 2003 survey testing.

In 2002, Lackey won Game 7 for the Anaheim Angels in the World Series. After that, he added World Series titles with his 2013 team. Boston Red Sox The 2016 Chicago Cubs. He was 188-147 with a 4.92 ERA over 15 seasons, and 8-6 with a 5.44 ERA in postseason.

Weaver was a three-time All-Star and was 150-98 with a 3.63 ERA.

Leave a Comment