Andrew Brunette, Darryl Sutter and Gerard Gallant are up for coach of the year

New York Rangers coach Gerard Gallant, Florida PanthersInterim coach Andrew Brunette Calgary FlamesDarryl Sutter and coach Darryl Sutter are the finalist for the NHL's Jack Adams Award. This award is given to the coach who “contributed most to his team’s success.”

The NHL Broadcasters’ Association members vote for the award.

Gallant took the Rangers to the Stanley Cup playoffs in their first season. This was the first time they had been there since 2017. Their.671 percent percentage was the highest since 2014-15. He is the Rangers' second ever coach to record more than 50 wins (52). Gallant is the third Jack Adams nominee with his third team. He previously won the award with expansion. Vegas Golden KnightsIn 2017-18. In their history, the Rangers have never been able to field a Jack Adams winner.

After his return to Calgary during the 2020-21 season, Sutter coached Calgary for the first time. The Pacific Division won by Calgary was the NHL's greatest season-over-season improvement. The Flames moved from 19th to sixth in goals per match and 16th to third in goals-against/game. This is Sutter’s second Jack Adams nomination.

Brunette is Brunette's first interim coach. Craig BerubeYou can find the St. Louis BluesTo be nominated for Jack Adams in 2019. On Oct. 29, 2021, he replaced Joel Quenneville in the role of head coach. Quenneville resigned following a report that described how Quenneville had been treated. Chicago BlackhawksQuenneville, then the head coach of the team, mishandled allegations that a player had been sexually abused in 2010.

Brunette was the first NHL head coach and led the Panthers to their first Presidents Trophy title as the best regular season team in League. They were the NHL’s top-scoring team from 1995-96. Brunette is the fourth Panthers coach who has been nominated to the Jack Adams. He also was the third Panthers coach in the past seven years, including Gallant in 2015-16.

Carolina HurricanesCoach Rod Brind'AmourThe award was presented in 2020-21.

Leave a Comment