Jimmer Fredette and potential NBA lottery picks Ausar & Amen Thompson join the 2022 TBT.

Jimmer Fredette, former National Player-of-the Year, and Ausar Thompson (possible top-10 NBA draft picks), will lead the 2022 field of The Basketball Tournament.

The 64-team TBT bracket was released Wednesday and features a record number of players with NBA experience, as well as 29 college alumni teams.

TBT will be hosting one of its regionals outdoors for the first time in its history. Other cities in the region include Omaha, Nebraska, Albuquerque (New Mexico); Wichita Kansas; Syracuse, New York, Charleston, West Virginia, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Dayton, Ohio.

Jon Mugar, TBT founder and CEO said that the field this year is “electrifying”. “Nine years ago we set out to be the place for high stakes, all-inclusive basketball. This allowed people from all walks of society to compete against each other. The field this year is a testament to how far we have come. It is extremely diverse and talented. I cannot wait to see which team wins six straight.

Each team will compete for $1 million in the winner-takes-all championship prize.

Fredette, an ex-BYU guard who led the nation in scoring in 2011, won consensus National Player of the Year awards, and was selected 10th in the NBA Draft draft. Fredette now heads The Money Team.

Fredette stated that he was going to play again and have fun. “My brother…” [general manager TJ Fredette] It is an important part of bringing the team together. It should be lots of fun to get back on the court and play some competitive basketball.

Fredette, his wife and their third child welcomed home by the Shanghai Sharks in China 2021. He is now part of a team which reached the quarterfinals in last season’s competition and includes Trevor Booker, Jeremy Evans and Charles Jenkins.

Fredette said, “I feel pretty great.” “I kept working out all the time. I’ll continue to work out and keep improving my game. I look forward to playing in front of fans and with guys I like.”

Fredette participated in the TBT 2018 and was the tournament’s top scorer, including a 41-point effort that helped Team Fredette advance.

He said, “It’s always wonderful.” At this point it’s all about winning. Simply doing what it takes to get there. Last time, I had the opportunity to be the top scorer in a great tournament. While that’s awesome, it’s not what matters. It’s about survival and progress. It’s all about winning these games and moving forward. Reach for that one million.

Fredette’s The Money Team, the Dayton region’s 1-seed, is Fredette. Other 1-seeds include YGC, Rucker Park, Gutter Cats Omaha (New Mexico), Heartfire (New Mexico), Florida TNT(Xavier), Boeheim’s Army [Syracuse], AfterShocks Wichita State and Best Virginia.

TBT was established in 2014 when Notre Dame Fighting Alumni won their first championship. Overseas Elite won their next four titles, before Carmen’s Crew (an Ohio State alumni) ended their streak. Marquette-focused Golden Eagles Alumni won the title in 2020, while Syracuse-focused Boeheim’s Army took the title last year.

Boeheim’s Army will defend their title by adding Tyler Ennis and Rakeem Christmas, first-time TBT players, to an already-large group that included D.J. Kennedy, DeAndre Kayne, who is also a four-time champion.

ESPN reported this month that 2023 lottery picks Amen Thompson and Ausar Thompson will be leading Team Overtime, a team assembled by Overtime sports media company. Jazian Gortman and the Thompson twins were both drafted this season. This will be the first time that NBA draft-eligible prospect will participate in TBT. However, the team also features many pro veterans including Malcolm Thomas (ex-San Diego State star). Overtime is the Omaha region’s 6-seed.

Sideline Cancer, a 2-seed from the Xavier region is seeking its third consecutive quarterfinal appearance. They welcome back Marcus Keene, former South Dakota State star and NBA veteran C.J. Miles.

Other players with NBA experience expected to play in this year’s TBT include Zhaire Smith (Air Raiders), Omari Spellman (Eberlein Drive), Antonio Blakeney (Florida TNT), Semaj Christon (Zip ‘Em Up), Justin Patton (Omaha Blue Crew), Jacob Pullen (Purple & Black), Kosta Koufos (Red Scare), Xavier Munford (The Money Team), Jacob Evans (Nasty Nati), Markel Brown (Stillwater Stars) and others.

The winner-takes all title game, televised on ESPN, awards $1 million to the champion team. The championship game for this summer will take place at Dayton on August 2.

Leave a Comment