NFL 2021 season awards presented at the 11th Annual NFL Honors Ceremony

Earned the NFL's single season sack record Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. WattThe league's Defensive player of the Year award.

His brother J.J. WattThe award was presented by the three-time defensive player, of the year, himself. It was announced at Thursday's NFL Honors Awards show in Los Angeles.

T.J. WattHe was voted the overwhelming winner by 42 media members across the country. Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah ParsonsAnd Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron DonaldEach received three votes.

Watt, the younger, tied Michael Strahan’s 2002 single-season record for sacks with 22.5 sacks. He also missed two games due to injury. The award was presented to Watt at the conclusion of a season that began with Steelers, making him the NFL’s highest-paid defensive player. Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger stated that Watt should be considered for MVP consideration at one point in this season.

Before the show started, Dallas CowboysAssistant coach of the Year was awarded to Dan Quinn, defensive coordinator. Quinn transformed a Dallas defense that allowed 473 points in 2020 to a franchise record and made it the ninth-best in points per game. Quinn also led the league's takeaways.

Quinn took the single-high defense he learned in Seattle with him and changed it to suit his new defensive philosophy. Atlanta FalconsHe moved from a position where he was the head coach for five years to a more diverse scheme that includes coverages and fronts. After the season was over, he applied for numerous head coaching vacancies. However, he decided to withdraw his name from consideration and stay with the Cowboys on an extended multi-year contract.

Leave a Comment