Robert Baloucoune – Ulster winger for Ireland’s New Zealand tour

Robert Baloucoune scored before Ulster before going off injured early in the second half
Robert Baloucoune scored prior to Ulster and was then injured in the second half

Robert Baloucoune (Ulster winger) has been ruled out from Ireland's summer tour through New Zealand.

Baloucoune was expelled by the Stormers during the second half of Ulster’s United Rugby Championship semifinal loss to the Stormers.

Johnny Sexton will lead the 40-man team, while Ciaran Frwley, his Leinster teammate is one of five uncapped participants.

This July, Ireland will take on the All Blacks in three Tests.

Andy Farrell's side also will play three fixtures against Maori All Blacks.

Sexton will lead the squad on this first tour of Ireland since their 2018 win over Australia.

Ireland has not been to New Zealand since 2012, and five of the current players, Cian Healy and Peter O'Mahony as well as Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton, were on the tour 10 year ago.

Centre Frawley, Leinster team-mates Joe McCarthy, Jimmy O'Brien and Munster's Jeremy Loughman, is one of five uncapped players. Connacht's Cian Praendergast is also among them.

Andrew Conway joins Baloucoune in the role of a prominent absentee. Ronan Kelleher, Chris Farrell, and Ronan Kelleher also have missed Baloucoune due to injury.

Farrell stated that Covid has prevented us from touring and that touring plays an important role in team gelling and building cohesion off the field.

“We will learn so much more about the players as well as the group as the whole when we face five extremely difficult fixtures far from home, in grounds where the home support is going to greatly outnumber the travelling Irish supporters.”

Ireland squad

Backs: Bundee Aki. Harry Byrne. Joey Carbery. Craig Casey. Keith Earls. Jamison Gilpin Park. Mack Hansen.

Forwards: Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Gavin Coombes, Caelan Dori, Tadhg Furlong, ian Healy, Dave Heffernan, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Jeremy Loughman, Joe McCarthy, Peter O'Mahon, Tom O'Toole, Andrew Porter, Cian Prendergast, James Ryan, Dan Sheehan, Nick Timoney, Kieran Treadwell, Josh van der Flier.

Leave a Comment