Rugby World Cup 2023: South Africa make 14 modifications for Romania recreation

Damian Willemse runs with the ball
Damian Willemse is the one South African to retain his place within the beginning XV as he strikes from full-back to fly-half
Venue: Stade de Bordeaux, Bordeaux Date: Sunday, 17 September Kick-off: 14:00 BST
Protection: Dwell commentary on BBC Radio 5 Dwell Sports activities Additional & BBC Sport web site & app; dwell textual content commentary on BBC Sport web site & app

Holders South Africa have named 4 recognised scrum-halves of their squad to face Romania of their World Cup assembly in Pool B.

Cobus Reinach wears the quantity 9 shirt because the Springboks make 14 modifications to the aspect which beat Scotland within the opening recreation of their title defence.

Grant Williams can be normally deployed at scrum-half however has been named on the wing.

Jaden Hendrikse and Faf de Klerk, who can cowl fly-half, are on the bench.

Damian Willemse, who switches from full-back to fly-half, is the one man to retain his spot within the beginning XV.

“Individuals had been shocked after we picked 4 scrum-halves within the squad however we knew they provided us the talents and flexibility to offer backline choices to handle the challenges that match rugby provides you,” mentioned head coach Jacques Nienaber.

“We now have been rotating and testing gamers in numerous positions since final season to place us within the lucky place to have a gaggle of 33 gamers in France which can be intently matched by way of their high quality of play and expertise.”

Lock Jean Kleyn makes his fifth Springboks look, 4 years after representing Eire within the final World Cup, whereas hooker Bongi Mbonambi will take over the captaincy from Siya Kolisi.

Will probably be simply the second assembly between the 2 groups for the reason that Boks gained the 1995 World Cup on house soil.

Romania opened the scoring of their opening recreation with Eire earlier than occurring to lose 82-8.

South Africa group to face Romania: Le Roux; Williams, Moodie, Esterhuizen, Mapimpi; Willemse, Reinach; Nche, Mbonambi (capt), Koch, Kleyn, Orie, Van Staden, Smith, Vermeulen.

Replacements: Fourie, Kitshoff, Nyakane, Snyman, Wiese, Hendrikse, De Klerk, Kriel.

Watch on iPlayer bannerWatch on iPlayer footer

Leave a Comment