Rugby World Cup 2025: England will host the women’s tournament

England win Six Nations title 2022
After winning the fourth consecutive Six Nations, England is the number one-ranked team in the world.

England has been confirmed as the hosts of 2025 Women's World Cup.

The World Rugby Council unanimously approved Australia as the host for the 2027 men's World Cup and 2029 women's World Cup.

The United States hosts the men's and women's tennis tournaments for the first times in 2031, 2033.

Rugby Football Union stated that it wanted 2025 to be the best-attended women's World Cup. It aims to fill Twickenham with 82,000 spectators for the final.

The 2015 men's World Cup in England was the most recent.

The announcement of the next five World Cup hosts is the first time World Rugby has done so simultaneously. Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said that it was an “unprecedented” move.

Women's Men's
2021 (postponed till October 2022). – New Zealand 2023 – France
2025 – England 2027 – Australia
2029 – Australia 2031 – United States
2033 – United States

World Cup will ‘promote all women’s sports'

England won the women’s World Cup twice. They lost in the final five.

The first female World Cup will see 16 teams competing in 2025.

The RFU will host matches at venues all over the country. It aims to improve facilities, recruit more referees and coaches, and increase participation and fan number.

Sue Day, an ex-england captain and now chief operating officer and finance officer of the RFU, stated that hosting would “create and last a legacy for women's Rugby” and “further promote all women's sports”.

Culture Secretary Nadine Dorries said £30m would be invested by 2025 as the government uses the tournament “as a catalyst to inspire more women and girls to get active”.

Presidential backing

USA Rugby stated that being selected as World Cup hosts for 2031 and 2033 was a “historic turning point” in the sport's history.

President Joe Biden had written to World Rugbyexternal-linkHis support was given for the US bid. Major League Soccer and NFL stadiums also compete to host matches.

Ross Young, chief executive of USA Rugby, hopes that the tournaments will create “lasting, sustainable enthusiasm for rugby from coast-to-coast”.

It is hoped two World Cups will be held in Australia in two years to increase participation.

Andy Marinos, chief executive of Rugby Australia, said that the announcement marked “the beginning of a new age for Australian rugby.”

He stated that Australia would host the British, Irish and Australian Lions in 2025 as well as the sevens tournaments during the 2032 Olympics. It will be “the center of the rugby world” over the next ten years.

Banner Image Reading Around the BBC - BlueFooter - Blue

Leave a Comment