South Africa has eight uncapped players who will be playing in Wales’s visit

Siya Kolisi
Siya Kolisi was the leader of South Africa's 2019 World Cup win in Japan and their series win over the British Lions in 2021.

South Africa has announced eight uncapped South African players to their 43-man squad in preparation for their 2022 international campaign, which begins against Wales in July.

The 2019 World Cup winner will face New Zealand, Argentina, and Australia in the Championship. This Championship follows the three-Test Wales series.

The uncapped forwards are Evan Roos and Elrigh Louw, Ruan Notje, Salmaan Mchunu, Ntuthuko Mochunu, Deon Fourie, and Salmaan Merat.

Grant Williams and Kurt Lee Arendse hope to be the first backs to win caps.

You may recognize the 2019 World Cup winner in lock Eben Etzebeth and flankers Pieter Steph du Toit & Siyakolisi, scrumhalf Faf de Krek, and wing Cheslin Kolbe for a Test series that finishes with games against Ireland & England in November.

Wales' home-based players will be familiarized with a variety of United Rugby Championship (URC), talent.

Two South African teams will be competing in Saturday's URC final, after no Wales regions placed in the top eight for 2021-22.

To reach the final, Stormers and Bulls narrowly beat Leinster and Ulster respectively from Ireland.

After the URC and French Top 14 seasons, Coach Jacques Nienaber’s entire team will assemble.

Nienaber stated, “Building squad depth” is one of our key areas. It is exciting to see the number young players who put their hand up this season and we are thrilled to invite them into the national squad environment.

“It is also nice to welcome back some experienced players who were part of our structures over a number of years, and I am confident that they will be able to fit back into setup with ease.

“We have to wait for some players from their club commitments to be released, but we are happy to announce the squad with just three weeks before our first Test against Wales.”

On Saturday, July 2, Wayne Pivac, Wales's boss, hosts the Springboks.

Springboks squad

Forwards: Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks), Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers), Vincent Koch (Saracens), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Ntuthuko Mchunu (Cell C Sharks), Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92), Joseph Dweba (Bordeaux), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears), Bongi Mbonambi (Cell C Sharks), Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks), Eben Etzebeth (Cell C Sharks), Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers), Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls), Marvin Orie (DHL Stormers), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls), Siya Kolisi (Cell C Sharks), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Evan Roos (DHL Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers), Rynhardt Elstadt (Toulouse), Deon Fourie (DHL Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat).

Backs: Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks), Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks), Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers), Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks), Johan Goosen (Bulls), Elton Jantjies (NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes), Handre Pollard (Montpellier Herrault), Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks), Damian de Allende (Munster), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins), Jesse Kriel (Cannon Eagles), Aphelele Fassi (Sharks), Warrick Gelant (Stormers), Cheslin Kolbe (Toulon), Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz,), Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks, Kurt-Lee Arendse (Bulls), Damian Willemse (Stormers).

Leave a Comment