The Ted Lindsay Award Finalists were chosen by the players as Auston Matthews (Connor McDavid), Roman Josi (Roman Josi).

Toronto Maple LeafsCenter Auston Matthews, Edmonton Oilerscenter Connor McDavid Nashville Predators defenseman Roman JosiThey have been selected as the finalists for Ted Lindsay Award. The Ted Lindsay Award honors the NHL’s most outstanding player according to votes by NHL Players’ Association members.

Matthews and McDavid were also finalist, together with New York Rangers goaltender Igor ShesterkinHart Trophy: This is the award given to the league’s best player by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Matthews was awarded the Rocket Richard Trophy for his 60 goals this season. This campaign set a Maple Leafs single season record and accounted to 19.2% of Toronto’s total goals. His 0.82 goals per match was the highest average since Mario Lemieux’s 0.99 in 1995-1996.

McDavid won for the fourth consecutive Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s best point scorer. He also set career highs in assists (79), goals (44), and points (123) during 80 games. McDavid seeks his second straight Hart Trophy to be league MVP.

Josi was the NHL’s highest scoring defenseman for 29 years. He scored 23 goals and 73 assists in 80 games, setting Predators franchise records. Josi’s 96 points have been exceeded by only six defensemen over the past 50 year: Phil Housley and Brian Leetch; Bobby Orr, Bobby MacInnis, Bobby Orr, Denis Potvin, and Phil Housley. His 59 even-strength point total was the highest since Ray Bourque’s 59 in 1986-1987. Josi is a finalist to the Norris Trophy. This top defenseman award was also won by him in 2019-20.

Leave a Comment