Tyler Herro, Miami Heat guard, receives 96 First-place votes to become the NBA Sixth Man Of The Year.

Miami HeatGuard Tyler HerroAlthough his breakout moment may have been in the NBA playoff bubble, his best sustained play was off the bench. The league announced Tuesday that he was named the NBA Sixth Man Of the Year for the 2021-22 season.

“We are trying to win a championship, so it doesn't matter if I'm starting or coming off of the bench, I accepted that position. … Herro stated that he is just happy to be part of this team and was happy to accept his role. He made the statement last month when he was named as a finalist. Kevin LoveYou can find the Cleveland CavaliersAnd Cameron JohnsonYou can find the Phoenix Suns.

Herro received 96 votes out of 100 possible first-place votes from a global panel made up of 100 sportswriters/broadcasters. This totaled 488 points. (First place votes are worth five, second place is worth three, third place is worth one)

Love was second with 214 votes (three first-place votes), and Johnson was third with 128 votes (one first place vote).

Jordan ClarksonYou can find the Utah Jazz (27 points), Luke Kennard12 points for the L.A. Clippers Bogdan BogdanovicYou can find the Atlanta Hawks (10 points), Kelly Oubre Jr. The Charlotte Hornets (9 points), De'Anthony MeltonYou can find the Memphis Grizzlies (4 points), Montrezl Harrell(3) points for the Hornets Immanuel QuickleyYou can find the New York Knicks (2 points), Brandon ClarkeGrizzlies (1 Point). Tyus JonesGrizzlies (1 point) Maxi KleberYou can find the Dallas MavericksThe voting ended with one point. Clarkson was awarded the award last season with the Jazz, while Harrell was awarded the award two years ago with the Clippers.

A player can only be eligible for the award if he has been on the bench in more than one game. Herro was on the bench for 56 of the 66 games that he played. He averaged 20.7 points, 5.0 rebound and 4.0 assists per game. As a substitute, Herro's scoring average was slightly lower (20.8) and was the best among reserve players in league.

He is the first Heat player ever to win the award, and only the fifth player to average at minimum 20 points from the bench since the 1970-71 season when starts were being recorded. Thurl Bailey, Eddie Johnson, Ricky Pierce(who did it twice). Lou Williams(Who also did it twice).

Herro was tied for third in the most season-long reserve scoring 30 or more, from 1970-71 to 1971. Former No. Former No. Boston CelticsIn Game 4, the 2020 Eastern Conference Finals at the Bubble, Miami set a single-game rookie scoring record.

He helped Miami reach a 53-29 record and was awarded the No. The East was seeded No. 1. The Heat are the leaders Philadelphia 76ers1-0 in East semifinals.

Leave a Comment