United Rugby Championship: Ulster takes the lead as the Stormers’ 14-man team reach final

Robert Baloucoune inspired Ulster's first-half comeback in Cape Town
Robert Baloucoune was the inspiration for Ulster's second-half return to Cape Town.
Stormers (10) 17
Tries: Kotze, Roos, Gelant Con: Libbok
Ulster (15.15.15.
Tries: Moore, Baloucoune Con: Cooney Pen: Cooney

Ulster fell five points behind the Stormers, allowing them to lose out on the final of the United Rugby Championship.

Stewart Moore and Robert Baloucoune canceled out an early Stormers surge. Ulster led 15-10 by half-time

Although it looked like Ulster would prevail when Adre Smith was sent to the stands on 70 minutes, Manie Libok converted Warrick Gelant’s red attempt to give the Stormers a 17-15 victory.

The Stormers will now face the Bulls in an all South African final on Saturday.

This defeat means that Ulster's trophy drought which dates back to 2006 will continue. However, the Stormers will be able to play in Cape Town against the Bulls for the final. They defeated favourites Leinster last Friday.

The second half was scoreless up to Gelant's attempt. Gelant's try came against all odds after Smith was sent to jail for making contact with Iain Henderson's eye. Libbok, who hadn’t made any of these three attempts, splits the posts with the final kick to send the hosts into the decisive.

More information to come.

Stormers: W Gelant; S Senatla, R Nel, D Willemse, L Zas; M Libbok, H Jantjies; S Kitshoff, JJ Kotze, F Malherbe; S Moerat, M Orie; D Fourie, H Dayimani, E Roos.

Replacements: AH Venter, B Harris, N Fouche, A Smith, E van Rhyn, N Xaba, G Masimla, S Mngomezulu.

Ulster: S Moore; R Baloucoune, J Hume, S McCloskey, E McIlroy; B Burns, J Cooney; A Warwick, R Herring, T O'Toole; A O'Connor, I Henderson (capt); Marcus Rea, N Timoney, D Vermeulen.

Replacements: J Andrew, E O'Sullivan, G Milasinovich, K Treadwell, Matthew Rea, N Doak, I Madigan, B Moxham.

Leave a Comment