URC: Ireland’s wing Andrew Conway will make Munster’s return during a crucial Leinster trip

Munster captain Peter O'Mahony
Munster is without Peter O’Mahony, their captain after he injures his shoulder during the Champions Cup quarterfinal loss by Toulouse. Andrew Conway will be back.
Venue:Aviva Stadium in Dublin Date:Saturday, 21 May Kick-off: 19:15 BST
Coverage:Match report on BBC Sport Website

Andrew Conway, Fit-again Ireland’s winger, will make his first Munster appearance since January at Saturday’s vital United Rugby Championship fixture against Leinster.

Conway is now fully recovered from a knee injury and is one the four changes Johann van Graan made after the Champions Cup loss by Toulouse.

Dan Goggin, Thomas Ahern and John Ryan are also in, but Peter O’Mahony remains out.

Ireland internationals Jordan Larmour, Ryan Baird and Ryan Baird are back for Leinster

Leinster have already secured top place and top seeding for play-offs. However, a win by Munster would guarantee second and the home semi-final.

Munster are without Peter O’Mahony and Simon Zebo, with Damian de Allende as skipper. Jack O’Donoghue is the new captain.

Mike Haley will start at full-back. Chris Farrell, Chris Goggin, and Chris Farrell will be named in midfield. Conor Murray (half-back) and Joey Carbery (half-back) remain the same.

Keith Earls is moved to the left side with Conway, who starts on the right. Fineen Wycherley joins Alex Kendellen (and O’Donoghue) in the back row.

Leo Cullen, Leinster’s boss, has decided to rest several Leinster players ahead of next week’s Champions Cup final in Marseille against La Rochelle. Larmour and Baird are returning from injury.

Larmour is in a back trio with Rob Russell, Rory O’Loughlin and Rory O’Loughlin. Harry Byrne is the fly-half and Ed Byrne is the captain in Johnny Sexton’s absence.

Leinster:Larmour, Russell, Osborne and Frawley, O’Loughlin; H Byrne; Foley; E Byrne(capt), Cronin. Clarkson. McCarthy. J Murphy. Baird. Penny. Deegan.

Replacements: McKee McKee, Dooley Healy Healy, Healy Healy, Toner Soroka B Murphy, Hawkshaw and A Byrne

Munster: Haley; Conway, Farrell, Goggin, Earls; Carbery, Murray; J Wycherley, Scannell, Ryan, Kleyn, Ahern, F Wycherley, Kendellen, O’Donoghue (capt).

Replacements: Barron, Loughman, Knox, Jenkins, Daly, Casey, Healy, Scannell.

Leave a Comment