Premier 15s: Exeter Chiefs v Saracens

Kate Zackary
Exeter number eight Kate Zackary, one of many internationals from the United States involved in this final
Venue: Sixways Stadium in Worcester Date: Friday, 3 June Kick-off: 15:00 BST
Coverage: You can watch live on BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website, and app at 14:45 BST

Exeter has named an unchanged team to try and upset Saracens, title favorites, in Friday's Premier 15s final at Sixways Stadium.

Jennine Detiveaux is flanked by Patricia Garcia, the Spanish fly-half who was unable to score the crucial late try against Bristol in the semi-final.

Holly Aitchison continues to replace Zoe Harrison, who was injured at Sarries 10.

A formidable forward pack includes Captain Marlie Packer and Poppy Cleall as well as Vicky Fleetwood, Vicky Fleetwood, Hannah Botterman, and Vicky Fleetwood.

Georgia Evans, second rower for Wales International is included in the Saracens. She could play her first match since then. suffering a serious arm injury against Bristol in February,

Poppy Cleall
Poppy Cleall scored 2 tries in Saracens semi-final victory over Harlequins

Saracens seek to regain Premier 15s title they won in the tournament’s first two years. losing last year's final to Harlequins.

Packer and Lotte Clapp co-captains the side. “We have a winning mentality. We always want to do the best we can,” claimed Lotte Clapp, wing.

“Once you have a taste for it like we did with the first trophy, you will want more. Once you feel that way, it's something you won't want to lose.”

Although Saracens lost a record 54-12 to Chiefs in their last meeting in May, they had, unlike the Chiefs, already secured their place in the play-offs.

Susie Appleby, Exeter head coach, believes that the win will put an end to any aura surrounding Saracens.

“That gave me some confidence. She said that we have since played some very tough games against Bristol, and are now ready for the top of the league side.”

“We're strong enough to win it. Saracens are a great team, and finals can throw up any number of challenges. But we've discussed being Chiefs and being ourselves as Chiefs. It gives you confidence, but not too much.

Exeter: Doidge, Sinclair, Kobayashi and Cantorna; Detiveaux, Garcia, Robinson; Rogers; Tuttosi; Menin; Van der Velden; Leitch (co–capt), Johnson; Zackary (co–capt).

Replacing Nielson. Hunt. Roberts. Senft. Jefferies. Bradley. Foster. McGillivray.

Saracens: McKenna; Wardle, Wardle, Kelter and Clapp (co–capt); Wyrwas; Botterman Campbell, Clifford McIntosh P Cleall Carson Fleetwood Packer (co–capt)

Replacements: Evans, Rose, Ellis, Green, Evans, Goddard, Casey, Vaughan-Fowler

Leave a Comment