European Challenge Cup: Edinburgh against Bath (Sat).

Bath scrum-half Ben Spencer
Ben Spencer won the final of his four caps for England in the 2019 World Cup final against South Africa.
Venue:DAM Health Stadium Date:Saturday, April 16 Kick-off: 20:00 BST
Coverage:BBC Radio Bristol has full match commentary. Live score updates are available on the BBC Sport website or app.

England scrum-half Ben Spencer, a Bath native, makes his 50th appearance in the European Challenge Cup against Edinburgh's Pool C winners.

Semesa Rokuguni takes the wing, and Wales' Taulupe Fletau is back at number eight. These are the only changes made since the Premiership loss at Exeter.

The Centres Mark Bennett, James Lang and James Lang are two of five Scotland internationals who will be returning to Edinburgh.

Emiliano Booffelli, Argentina's wing starts also at DAM Health Stadium.

Boffelli replaces Darcy Graham who is injured. Ben Muncaster, however, is fit and begins at blindside flanker.

Fijian tighthead prop Lee Roy Atalifo is on the front row, as Edinburgh make eight adjustments to the side that defeated Pau 54-5 in Round 1 to clinch the home advantage against Bath.

Bennett and Lang are joined by Blair Kinghorn, Ben Vellacott, and Hamish Watson in the Edinburgh VIII.

Spencer, a former Saracens scrumhalf, is named vice-captain. Rokoduguni was a late withdrawal from the match against the Chiefs. Joe Cokanasiga (back three) and Tom de Glanville (forward three) are also available.

Faletau returns to the competition for the first time this season. Faletau completes an all-international back row alongside Sam Underhill from England and Josh Bayliss of Scotland.

Saturday's game marks the first meeting between the Challenge Cup sides after five meetings in Champions Cup. Edinburgh has won four of those, while Bath has won four.

Edinburgh:Moyano Bennett, Lang and Boffelli; Kinghorn; Vellacott; Schoeman; McInally; Atalifo Sykes, Sykes; Sykes, Gilchrist; Muncaster; Watson, Bradbury

Replacements: McBurney, Courtney, Williams, Young, Boyle, Pyrgos, van der Walt, Hutchison

Bath: De Glanville; Rokoduguni; Joseph, Clark; Cokanasiga, Bailey; Morozov; Dunn; Stuart, W Spencer; Ewels (capt), Bayliss; Underhill; Faletau

Replacements: Du Toit, Cordwell, Rae, Williams, Richards, Simpson, Cipriani, Butt

Referee: Ludovic Cyre (France).

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Leave a Comment